Introduction to Mindfulness Meditation and Overview of the Teachings of the Buddha


What is the purpose of these lessons?

There are two reasons for these lessons. First, they are to introduce you to the terminology used to explain Buddhist philosophy and meditation practices. Secondly, they are intended to give you a broad brush stroke introduction to the main teachings of the Buddha. To avoid feeling overwhelmed reading through the material, initially, just read the lessons “lightly” without any intention to fully digest the material. Then, with this hint of what is available, you can visit the Resources page for suggestions for more in depth teachings. Lesson 1 does give a fair amount of detail on Breath Meditation but the other topics are just briefly introduced.

Lesson 1 (PDF)

  • The Four Noble Truths
  • The Four Foundations of Mindfulness
  • Preamble to Sitting Meditation
  • Sitting Meditation and Mindfulness of the Breath
  • The Sound of Silence
  • Clear Comprehension
  • Moment by Moment Mindfulness Throughout the Day

Lesson 2 (PDF)

  • Mindfulness of the Postures of the Body:
    • Lying Down Meditation
    • Standing Meditation
    • Walking Meditation

Lesson 3 (PDF)

  • The Second Noble Truth
  • The Three Characteristics
  • The Second Foundation of Mindfulness
  • Mindfulness of Feelings (Vedana)
  • The┬áPeace Treaty

Lesson 4 (PDF)

  • Review
  • Third Foundation of Mindfulness
  • The Four Efforts
  • Metta Meditation
  • Sympathetic Joy
  • Developing a Meditation Practice

Lesson 5 (PDF)

  • Meditation on Compassion
  • Meditation on Equanimity
  • The Hindrances
  • Antidotes for the Hindrances

Lesson 6 (PDF)

  • The Noble Eightfold Path – The Middle Way
  • Dependent Origination
  • Morality and The Precepts
  • The Paramitas

Lesson 7 (PDF)

  • The Jhanas
  • Access Concentration
  • The Cultivation of Wisdom
  • The Immaterial Jhanas
  • Supernormal Powers
  • The Four Bases of Success
  • Stages of Enlightenment
  • Temperamental Types
  • The 40 Meditation Objects

Lesson 8 (PDF)

  • The Fourth Foundation of Mindfulness
  • The Seven Factors of Awakening / Enlightenment
  • The Five Aggregates of Clinging
  • The Six Sense Bases
  • The Five Spiritual Qualities
  • Transcendental Dependent Origination
  • The Pali Canon
  • The Three Refuges
  • Developing a Meditation Practice